top of page

Introducing our January Round Contributors!

Hi everyone, welcome!


Today we had the pleasure to get to know our members for this month. We are very excited about this new experience and hope it will be a fruitful initiative to come together, learn, mobilize, and spread consciousness on human rights issues. We took our first meeting as an opportunity to briefly illustrate the mission of this blog to our members, as well as reminding them that advocacy comes in many forms as long as it’s meaningful to you personally and makes an impact.


To get to know each other we asked them to introduce themselves by answering these three questions:

  1. Name and grade level?

  2. What do the words “human rights” mean to you?

  3. Why did you sign up? What do you wish to achieve through this experience?

This is what our members replied:


ALESSANDRA, GRADE 12

"Human rights" are rights that are fundamental to all human beings, that make people human and not only animals. Everybody is born with the same rights and it should be the job of governments to implement those, but unluckily, it is not always the case. I signed up in order to learn and explore more about human rights but also because I deeply enjoy writing and I want to develop this passion more.


CLARA, GRADE 12

To me human rights are fundamental rights/principles that we people should live by, have access to, and enforce. I think they are part of what helps establish a good global society that is positive, peaceful, and just.

I signed up for this as I wanted to share about some human rights issues that may seem small, but that in reality can be quite important (on a national level). (MEDCs can also have human rights issues that also need to be reported and advocated about). I wanted to write an article specifically about an issue going on in Denmark, my home country.


DAVID, GRADE 10

To me the words human rights are rights given to a person at birth and no matter what they can't be violated.

I joined because it really caught my attention! I thought it to be an interesting thing to do.


IRENE, GRADE 12

I signed up to join Indivisible because I’ve always wanted to be a journalist and make an impact through writing. I think that writing about human rights is one of the most effective ways to do so especially because, as privileged people, we don't often take into account how meaningful and real these issues are in the world and even in the communities surrounding us. Spreading awareness is something I am very passionate about, and I hope I will be able to do this with Indivisible.


These were all great definitions of what human rights are, and we're glad to see our contributors show off the knowledge they had prior to the submission process! We provided them with a technical definition of what human rights are: “A fundamental set of entitlements or guarantees inherent to all human beings” and illustrated some examples such as: freedom, justice, participation, dignity, equality, non-discrimination, diversity, and inclusion.

The meeting was concluded with a run-down of the submission process schedule. It was a pleasure for us to witness their passion and engagement for this topic and the activity itself... We can’t wait to see what articles and creative pieces they craft and we hope you can't, either!

We'll keep you updated!


See you soon,


Aidyn, Sara, and Virginia


10 views0 comments
bottom of page